La Colonia Miller (my new home)

Home

I am living with Reina, a lovely woman who hosts AFE volunteers – her house is beautiful!

I’m all settled into my new “home” in Honduras.  I live in a little community called the “Miller” (ironic, I know) – the people are so friendly!  I have already made some friends with a few people my age, and they have taught me a lot of new Spanish and information about the culture.  At our college “Celula” (the church’s small group), Paola got me to say “que pudo?” which I later found out is a crude way of greeting someone because “pudo” means “fart.”  Needless to say, I’m learning plenty of slang!

I feel like I am living at the Taj Mahal of the Miller – my house is so clean and nice.  The streets around here are very steep and rocky. I feel like there’s just no way to avoid being dirty because the roads are all dirt, and it’s very damp because of the rainy season.  I guess that’s the beauty of it though – no one cares what you look like.  Everyone is down to earth and very much in the moment and willing to stop and talk to you.  It’s quite refreshing!

2 thoughts on “La Colonia Miller (my new home)

  1. Elizabeth! I love reading about your experiences. You write beautifully. Thank you so much for letting us share in your adventure. I’m so proud of you.
    Love, Aunt Rachel.

Leave a Reply

